UBER NOW TRACKS USERS AFTER BEING DROPPED OFF

uber

[12/4/16]  Uber can now track their passengers’ locations after they are dropped off and even when their app has been closed.

A new update to Uber’s app allows the global taxi service to collect passenger data up to five minutes after a journey has finished.

Previously Uber had only been able to do this when their app was open.

‘We do this to improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service, and to enhance safety. Trip Related Location Data is collected during the following times.’

On the app users can choose between two information sharing options labelled ‘Always’ and ‘Never’.

continue-reading-banner